Brien's 2015 Halloween Costume Contest Entry

Brien

It's been awhile since I have been able to do a build as I was stuck in Liberia last Halloween. I get to be home this year so I talked my daughter into going as Hawkgirl.

I used the foam file found in JFcustoms thread.

Here's some progress pics.
Helmet in Progress 1.jpg

IMG_0624.JPG

A quick test fitting
FullSizeRender2.jpg

For paint I used some texture paint to cover the less than stellar seams in my build. I need to get away from hot glue...it's too damn messy.

FullSizeRender1.jpg
FullSizeRender.jpg

For the final paint, I hit the whole thing with some translucent brown to give the color some depth.

Finished Helmet.jpg

Overall, this was a tough one to do in foam, especially since I had to scale it down for my 9 year old daughter. I imagine it would be easier with a larger scale. I am new to airbrushing, so using the new airbrush caused some issues.

The wings were a little daunting for me. Eventually I just downloaded some vectored feathers and used those to makes some templates. I didn't feel like cutting out dozens of foam feathers (oh how I miss the laser engraver at my old job) so I used those templates to make larger templates for rows of feathers.

Feather in progress.jpg

Once I had some feathers cut from foam, I fired up the airbrush and gave them some paint. I'm new to the airbrush and they could have been a lot better but they look pretty good. I am out of foam so more feathers will have to wait until the new rolls come in.
Feathers.jpg

So far, it's coming together pretty well. I have to go to the field for a week, so that's going to slow me down. The wings should go pretty quick once I get the foam. Just have to get the wife on the costume bits.

Last edited:
Re: Hawkgirl

that helmet looks great! i'm actually going to try to make the same one for my wife. can i ask what width foam you used? hope mine turns out half as good as this.