Captain America shield and magnetic shield harness

Benzo

This is my first project, and it is very simple compared to most things on here, but I thought I'd post it anyway. I've been working on it for quite some time, and for the first thing I've ever done, I'm quite proud of how it has turned out.

I started out aiming to make a captain america shield out of cheap materials that almost anyone could get hold of and use, and to make a shield harness to hold the shield on my back, like cap does in the movies. I followed the instructable by seamster (credit to him) for most of the making of my shield. However, it is the magnetic harness that I designed.

It doesn't look totally like it does in the movies, as I haven't used leather or big metal buckles, but I think it still looks good. I used straps that you can find on bags, two countersunk magnets which can be bought from ebay for about £2-£3 each, a screw with a nut and washers, and plastic clips which can also be found on bags.

I measured the straps, and luckily they fit me. Each strap should be long enough to go from the top of your chest, over one shoulder, cross over your back, under the other arm, and back to your chest. If both straps are long enough they should cross over on your front and back. If you want the straps to be adjustable, leave plenty of extra on each strap. Thread the strap through the fork part of the plastic clip, and use a glue gun to hot glue the strap to itself, so that it won't come out of the plastic clip. If you want the straps to be a fixed length, do the same to the other end of the strap with the other part of the plastic clip. IF YOU WANT THE STRAP TO BE ADJUSTABLE, DO NOT HOT GLUE THE END THAT THE FORK PART OF THE CLIP CLIPS INTO. JUST THREAD IT THROUGH BUT DON'T GLUE IT. Do this for both straps.