Dredd helmet Bolland style

sinx

Hi, I'm very new to this and was inspired by the number of cool costumes I saw at a comic con recently.

I only discovered pepakura recently and so I've decided to give it a try. I've always wanted a Dredd helmet, but I prefer the Bolland version to the film versions. I couldn't find any pdo for a Bolland style helmet so I tried creating one in Blender (also a first for me) and exporting it into pepakura. There's quite a learning curve for both.

dredd_blend_pic.jpg

After a lot of clicking and reclicking and repositioning in pepakura I printed it out on 160gsm paper (I wanted to go heavier but I was worried about jamming the printer at work) Of course, it has come out the wrong size - too small. Annoyingly I think I actually got the sizing right but after a couple of test prints I decided to reduce by 10% and now after building the thing I find my nose sticks out between the nose pieces no matter how much I try positioning it on my head :lol Still, I will go ahead and complete this anyway as it's good practice.

pep01_02.jpg

So now I guess it's fibreglass resin. I don't know how best to make sure the lower part of the helmet is nice and symmetrical though ...I folded a flap around the back a bit too much and has a slight "corner" there

Fold your braces into a triangle to give it strength and make sure you have enough braces I've just messed up the upper cheek on a 3D pep lid where I didn't brace it

Last edited:
I've actually moved away from using braces and made my Peps completely enclosed, except for an opening for pouring in resin. This keeps everything lined up, especially in those open face helmets.
SJS_Helmet-008.jpg

Last edited:
That's a very good idea BlindSquirrel - I'm having a lot of trouble trying to get the two sides symmetrical. Actually I found your blog a couple of days ago with your Bolland style helmet after I started and I thought it was awesome - they should have used that in the movie IMO