1:1 Wall-e Build

welshwarrior123

Hello,
Havent posted on here in a good while. So im in my final year of University where im doing a model making and special effects course. And for my final project I have chosen to build a 1:1 scale Wall-e. Ive been over to the Wall-e's builders club and gathered some of the plans. Looking at the plans, I felt he was a little to big. My Friend Gooses2 is on here building a 1:1 M.O, and comparing it to him I decided to scale the plans down 25%.

So being that its part of a Degree, there is a lot of book work needed as well as research. So I first went and built up a cardboard maquette, this was to show my tutors on the course the scale, as well as for me to get an idea of how big he actually will be.

From the maquette I realised I had scaled the head wrong. So that was then tweaked. I then went and did some test pieces for both his eyes and his solar charge panel. The panel was laser cut using 3mm clear acrylic, cut in a way so that it could be stacked to get the desired effect. Big thanks to gooses2 for helping me with the scaling :)

I scratch-built the backing behind the vent section out of styrene, then gave the piece a hit of primer.

I didnt get the scaling right on the button which came out to big, this though is just a test piece with the main piece getting done in January. The intention will be to add lights to the back so the slats will need to be clear. The eyes were done in the same way. I cut out three sections, the first with the eye hole cut out. These were then attached together using brass rods. The idea will then be to wrap 1mm abs around the frames to give me the eye shape.

Here they are with the primer along with the solar panel.

Next came the body. The idea is to make the main shape out of MDF. Skim the piece with ABS to give me a smooth base, then to add all the external detailing and panelling with acrylic, chemi wood etc...