Raithan's 2014 Halloween Costume Contest Entry Child TMNT 2014

Raithan

My 5 yr old son this year wanted me to try to up the ante on his costumes. Last year i made an Optimus Prime and The year before an IronMan. This year he decided he wanted to be a Ninja Turtle. We were going to base off the cartoon until he saw the trailer for the new movie and wanted that. My experience is fairly limited. The 2 previous costumes have been my only foray into costume building, I have some experience with Models and painting from when i was younger. Anyone interested in making halloween costumes and mask's should check out StiltbeastStudios Youtube channel. He had a tutorial on making a foam muscle chest that really helped me out.

I started by researching how i wanted to make it but there was not much reference only a couple of pics.

We then Constructed a Duct Tape Dummy and then put pajamas ontop of that.

On top of the Pajamas we sculpted the muscles using 1.5 in upholstery foam and glued them on using rubber cement and spray adhesive. We then covered the entire outfit with a 1/8 inch upholstery foam and sealed with spray glue and a layer of liquid latex to help seal.

For the shell I tried multiple things but finally we had a platter that was the size of the base of the shell and i made a rough skeleton using Anti Faitgue Mat and then covered in duct tape. I put a couple of coats of resin on but did not make much difference. I then took 5 ml fun foam from Hobby Lobby and cut the pattern for the turtle shell out and glued it over the frame. On top of that i put a layer of StyroSpray 1000 to give it a hard shell. We used a couple of buckles and Nylon to make it into slip on backpack.