Cptdragon9's Godzilla 2014 Halloween Costume Contest Entry

cptdragon9

at the show.jpg IMG_5831.JPG

Cpt Dragon's Godzilla 2000 (MireGoji)

I have been a rank amateur building for about 3 years now, though I have helped the neighborhood children dress as 'Bogs, vampires, etc. On occasion genius would strike. I did a zombie one year by gluing live meal worms to my face and managed to clear out a whole buffet line!

After watching Face Off and attending my first comic con, I got the bug real bad. Since I am not young nor skinny enough for super-heroines I went for the bad boys. My first build wasDoc Oc. About 2 years ago I did a full body King Ghidorah build mostly out of cloth and worked with soft foam for the first time. After somebody sent me a link to Becoming Godzilla I decided to go for it. This is my first full body foam build of anything, so in my madness I tackle the Big Guy (full build)

The actual build time was about eight weeks, though plotting in my head was much longer. What took the most time was the texturing of the body, taking scraps leftover from cutting the fins and gluing them in long strips. I ended up using regular house latex paint to cover, first in grey (which he looked great in as well ) before covering in Dark Forest Green. I reused the King Ghidorah feet and added an extra toe. Originally I was going to keep the hands and feet just duct taped and spray painted, but ended up running foam texture on them too. Glad I did; it looked much better.

The head came out excellent, better than I had hoped.

IMG_5602_zpse7aa2650.jpg

IMG_5625_zps36a50402.jpg
IMG_5669_zps07e54f50.jpg
IMG_5679_zps77d64a23.jpg
IMG_5696_zps1d2d61e9.jpg