My NASA Mercury Space Suit

Mr. Nagata

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
I've been a huge space buff since I was a kid and built my first Apollo space suit when I was 14. I'm pretty obsessed with space suits and some of you might remember my Star Trek Tholian Web suit from last year:

32_11709297868625446635861028898982n.jpg

But I've ALWAYS wanted a replica Mercury space suit. I've been researching it for about 2 years now. I completely patterned this out and sewed it myself. All the hard parts are casts of original parts or scratch-built. I spent the better part of the last year finding all the correct webbing, buckles, and pulleys. All of the flown Mercury suits were a little different, but this is the most accurate replica of Shepard's Mercury suit ever made, even more accurate IMO than the one made by Global Effects for From the Earth to the Moon. I also have an accurate Apollo space suit and a set of Apollo inflight coveralls in the works.

52_mercurysuit1.jpg

52_mercurysuit2.jpg

52_mercurysuit3.jpg

52_mercurysuit4.jpg

52_mercurysuit5.jpg

52_mercurysuit6.jpg

52_mercurysuit7.jpg

52_mercurysuit8.jpg

52_mercurysuit9.jpg

52_mercurysuit10.jpg

52_mercurysuit11.jpg

52_mercurysuit12.jpg

Last edited:
Thanks! I put together a comparison photo. My suit is modeled after Alan Shepard's, and the suits in the photo are Grissom's and Glenn's. The main difference being that those suits had quick release rings on the cuffs while Shepard's suit still had the old Navy Mark IV zipper closures. There are many other minor differences, but I just put it up for comparison.

52_mercurysuitcomparison.jpg

Work of art for sure. Beautiful workmanship.

Apollo suit you say? Pics?

What are you using for a microclimate/cool suit? Or is this not meant to be worn for any length of time?