Advice on building without a model?

hzrdous

I've been asked to make a costume as a favor for a friend who lives about 14 hours away from me. I'll be visiting for several days this fall, but beyond that I won't have him around for fittings of anything. I'm pretty nervous about it, as a.) this is my first build for someone else and b.) I've had either myself or my dress form for all of my work to this point. I'm used to making adjustments as I go. This time I'll get one shot at measurements and that's it. I know that this can't be the end of the world as many of you out there do commissions for people who live far away. Any advice? I'm thinking of making a cast of him just for my peace of mind.

Relevant details of the build:
- Character: Zaeed (Mass Effect 2)
- Medium: EVA foam (primarily)
- Timeframe: Before Dragon*Con 2015, but mostly this winter

Thanks, all! I'm not really nervous about the design itself; I can see pretty clearly how it needs to be done. I'm just a little worried about getting everything just right without being able to test it out. I suppose if all else fails we can mail it back and forth. ;)

(I apologize if this has been covered somewhere. Search wasn't so helpful.)

That's what I'm thinking. We can do it when I visit. Then I'll at least have something. I just won't get to see how it moves or anything.