Guardians of the Galaxy: The tape deck on board the Milano

Risu

Master Member
I didn't see another thread on this, if there is one I missed it. I'm thinking of building the tape deck on the ship, partly because I think it would be a great way to display the tape.

guardians-of-the-galaxy-movie-screenshot-mix-tape.jpg

I'm no expert on tape decks, I haven't had one since I was 13. Does anybody recognize any of the components, particularly the actual tape controls or the dials? (which obviously aren't from a tape deck at all) The wood backing and frame are easy enough, the handles shouldn't be a problem, and some of the knobs shouldn't be too challenging, but the dials and actually functional tape controls would be difficult to rig up from scratch.

been mulling this over this afternoon. I think its a custom job. the actual tape deck part would be harvested from a deck. no idea about the knobs. ive tried checking a few wholesale websites, but havent found anything. did find this though:

http://imgur.com/a/pzWO9

Thanks for the reference guys! Btw, as far as size is concerned, based on the tape it looks like it's pretty much exactly 2 feet wide. I might need to change that estimate once I get my tapes. The knobs look reasonable enough, even given my lack of skill on the lathe. The dials do still look like a concern, and while I can print most of those stickers (albeit without the smells), I will need to find those puffy Alf ones.

EDIT: WOW, I decided to take a look on ebay and I've never had that awesome a result. Not only were the Alf puffy stickers readily available, but so were all the scratch n sniff stickers. I managed to get everything for about $25 shipped.

Last edited:
Hey guys, im thinking building a setup

maybe if 6 guys are into it i can get the scratch and sniff stickers in the 6 sets and split them? the one that harder to find is the rootbeer cool sticker, we would have to wait for a six set to show up.