Waterslide Process?

Corrose

Hello all,

I have been a member here for awhile now, but don't get around to the forums much these days, and when I do it's mostly to browse, I don't do much of any real posting. I wanted to reach out to see if anyone could point me in the right direction on something.

I have recently become interested in learning more about waterslide decals, from how they are made, to what equipment is needed to finishing and all. I have casted some wide nets on google but never seem to land any solid information. Generally when I get fascinated by something, I tend to want to invest in a semi-professional way of doing it, and a lot of what is out there are folks who are buying the media at office supply stores and doing things on their home printers. I am a designer professionally so print quality and resolution is high on my list of what I want my equipment to be able to achieve. At the same time, I'm not a full time business, so I do have to avoid options that are in the tens of thousands of dollars.

I own a Roland BN20 which I really love, but in all my talks with my Roland guys, this process cannot be done on a solvent based ink solution like the BN20 is capable of. I also assume any printers that carry aqueous based inks is out because you have to soak the transfers in water.

I'm not looking to compete with anyone selling anything here, I just want to be able to do these types of decals for personal projects.

Any links or information anyone could provide would be appreciated.

Also if this is not the right section of the forums to post this in, I apologize, I didn't see any other categories that seemed like a fit.

Thank you in advance!