Black Manta fast build

3426461-black+manta.jpg3304403-black+manta+2.jpgBlack_Manta_0017.jpg

Hey everyone, This is my first time posting a WIP here on the boards. So for Dragon*con my wife is doing the night at the aquarium as a genderbend aquaman. I wanted to dress up too and wanted to make a costume fast. So I thought Black Manta would fit the theme and would be pretty easy to do. This is my first time working with foam, and it is a rush job because I'm trying to dedicate my free time to my Sentinel costume. My idea with this cosplay was to keep it simple and iconic. Here is some pics of my WIP:Black Manta WIP 001.JPGBlack Manta WIP 004.JPGBlack Manta WIP 005.JPGBlack Manta WIP 006.JPGBlack Manta WIP 007.JPG

So the first picture shows what I already had made/bought. For the head I used two Squirrel bafflers and then cut it into the shape i need with my Dremel. I then glued them together. The second image shows the flex tubes i plan on using to connect the helmet and air tank together. The third is Black Manta's wrist harpoon gun. Not my best but what can you do. The fourth is the weird blade weapon he uses from time to time and the final picture is the air tank. I've heat sealed everything and am planning to plasti-dip, prime, then chrome everything. I have some sanding to do on the helmet and some more detail work before I plasti-dip, prime and chrome. here is what it currently looks likeBlack Manta WIP 002.JPGBlack Manta WIP 003.JPG

One day I hope the jobs I take my time on will end up as good as some people's rush jobs. Looks great so far! I look forward to seeing how you're going to pull off the eyes.

Thanks everyone! My idea for the eyes is to use red folder seperators and place them on the inside of the helmet. Maybe just a cut at the top and bottom to help them take the shape of the eye sockets. Then I'm going to use window froster to help make it just a bit more opaque. I'm going to place a foam outliner on the outside.