Mad Max Interceptor scratch build Query...

Superbeast

New member here, I have been using this site for inspiration and reference for a long time now, finally joined today, one of the best communities out there!

Now for the first time, I need to ask the RPF for some advice regarding scratch building a Mad Max Interceptor. I know that there is a kit available from Aoshima, but this is too pricey so I have decided to finally try my hand at scratch building one using and existing 1:24 scale model car kit as a base. Although I have been building models and scratch building movie props for many many years, I do not have a hugely extensive knowledge about cars.

Can anyone advise a 1:24 scale model car kit that would make a semi-decent base for an Interceptor? I know the actual car used in the movie was a XB GT Ford Falcon, but I have never been able to find a kit of this car, so wondered if there might be another car out there that is pretty close to it?

Any help appreciated!

The closest car size wise was a Ford Maverick. The Torino is way too long, and while it shares some features, over all it's not a good match. The Mach 1 Mustang also shares some features with the Ford Falcon XB.

a word of advice from someone who has built a very large, and detailed mad max diorama. The Aoshima kit might seem expensive, but the $40-50 you'll spend on the kit, is going to be cheap compared to what you'll spend buying multiple model kits for single bits and pieces, and the styrene and tools. Plus the time.

You can also back order it right now from HLJ for $30

With the new movie coming next year, I'm sure you'll see a repop of the Aoshima kit, so if you have a little patience you can pick one up, have a straight forward, very accurate build, at a pretty reasonable price.