My first 1/350 scale Enterprise NX-01

Miketastic

Jr Member
Hello fellow modelers, Trekkers, or Trekies (whichever you choose to call yourselves) and everyone else who chooses to check this thread out,

My name is Michael, and I am a modeler. I have bult many, many Refit 1701 ships as it is my favorite version of the Enterprise, but for kicks, I have decided to try a 1/350 NX-01. I know the refit details, lighting, etc. by heart, but had to do a LOT of research to make sure I build as acurate version of this ship as i can... well... maybe with a FEW non-cannon details, just to tie it into the 60's ship and the Refit ship. so dont beat me up TOO bad if you see something you didnt see in the show.
My real challenge is to make this ship look "old" or dated compared to the refit and the 60's ship. No easy task as this ship has LOTS more detail, and usually more details, means more modern looking. but I think I can achieve this look by not dulling or adding "burn" streaks as some people has done, but by lighting. this ship will be lit by ONLY warm white LEDs,(except for the obvious colored details) the only cool white LED will be in the lower sensor dome, just because i feel that this is a MECHANICAL part, and therefore would NOT be the same "color" as the interior lighting, just my feelings. even the stobes and running lights will be warm white. I might do a few things with painting to simulate "primitive" panel alignment, but thats for later on...

I have posted a few pics of just starting out. the color of the ship is just the base primer coat. I will post more as i progress, thanks for checking it out!

1701 008.jpg1701 010.jpg1701 009.jpg
1701 003.jpg1701 006.jpg1701 011.jpg1701 007.jpg1701 005.jpg

Good luck with this. I've had the same kit for years but haven't had the room for it so it sits in the box up on the shelf for now.