Cable (Marvel) costume build. Need advice on latex and other manliness things

sauranas31

So I'm not sure this is the right area. Anyberries.

I'm working on making a Cable costume (http://comicattack.net/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/xmensecondcoming.jpg) and I want to make his arm. I've decided to make a latex arm, but I've never worked with it before and I have a few questions about the process. This is what I have laid out for now. Correct me if I'm wrong anywhere!

1. Plaster strips on my arm. Cut off and mold back together.
2. Clay on the outside to create the "strips" of metal on his arm.
3. Jelly it up and pour Alginate. Take out the clay and plaster.
4. Pour latex into Algi mold.
5. Enjoy compliments on badass latex arm.

My main questions are along the lines of what brands to use for the plaster, Alginate and latex. Is there good, better, best?
In doing my proper research, it was suggested that I make the arm in three different pieces (shoulder bell, bis/tris, and forearm) for mobility. With latex, I didn't think I would have much of a mobility problem, though. Am I wrong?
I know it's best to color the latex before pouring to make it easier to paint afterwards, but what kind of paint should I use for the silver? Rub 'n Buff? Tamiya acrylic? Some sort of lacquer?
How thick should the clay sculpt be?

Also, was considering creating latex boot covers, but would making EVA foam boot covers over motorcycle boots be a more viable option? I'll be using Worbla for the shoulder armor and an old police duty belt with attachments for the utility belt. Kinda stumped on what to use for the harness, though. My thoughts had me drifting toward using thriftstore leather belts cut up and attached to different buckles. And of course I'll be painting Nerf guns and have a Nerf bandolier.

Thoughts? Comments? Any advice is greatly appreciated. This will be my first major attempt at costume making.

Well I decided to just go ahead and start it. Here's what I have so far.