The Winter Soldier - Costume Research Thread

Extimorous

Hi, I haven’t done anything as ambitious as this – ever. I saw the trailer for the new Captain America movie and loved the look they are using for The Winter Soldier. I wanted to start putting the costume together for DragonCon next year. So, I went out and snagged all the source images I could, and started researching. I know that I may have to settle on some of the components, but I’d like to get it as screen accurate as I can manage. I’ve sewn a bit, and I’ve modified things to create costumes or props in the past, but I’ve never done a scratch build before. If I can figure out what can be store-bought and what I may need to comission/build myself, that will help loads.

Outdated text will be put in italics, so we have some sense of continuity.

Thanks
-Will

I’m going to list out everything I’ve figured out, and update it when I have more information. Hopefully, this will

Identifying Equipment
TWS is a walking armory. He's displayed a variety of main weapons and secondary equipment. Below is what we've managed to identify so far.

The Launcher
Back1.PNG TWS1.PNG Launcher2.PNG
The launcher used in the first trailer is an FN MK13 Grenade Launcher that has been modified to launch the discs used to take out Fury's SUV. Thanks to @Murded for pointing out the IMFDB. Now just to figure out what the best way to build this thing will be.

The Rifle
Guns.PNG

This is an AR-15 with optics (I'm betting it's an EO Tech site) and an M203 style under slung grenade launcher.
It looks like he picks this up later. Based on what we've seen in the trailers, it's likely that he picks up and drops weapons on a regular basis.

Back Mounted Machine Pistol
This is a Skorpion machine pistol.
This is the machine pistol that is attached to his back. Thankfully, airsoft versions of these are everywhere.

Another Grenade Launcher
tws-gl02.JPG