Black Mask (AO) WIP

Harbing3r

So I've been meaning to upload this for a few weeks now. I'm relatively new to pepakura, this being my first "official" build (my previous was a spartan helmet from Halo, just to essentially familiarize myself with the process).

I used BlackKaos's pattern, definitely worth the $15, super easy to put together! Would definitely recommend his work to anyone interested.

I used the default size initially, however unfortunately it was slightly too small for my head. The paper version just barely fit and was super tight absolutely no wiggle room. For my second (and current) version, I increased size slightly to adjust fit.

IMG_4009.JPGIMG_4013.JPG

I'm using SmoothCast 321 for strengthening, and also in place of resin with fiberglass cloth.

IMG_4042.JPGIMG_4045.JPG

I didn't get any pictures of the fiberglass cloth on the inside, but inside was lined w/ 1 layer of fiberglass cloth. I sanded any of the jagged edges, etc. from the inside. Additionally I also used a very small amount of SmoothCast 320 (essentially same thing as 321, but with a pot life of only 3 minutes) to coat the inside and give it a smooth finish (no pointy edges). It also helps strengthen the helmet further.

IMG_4048.JPG

Next was Bondo, which is turning into the bane of my existence. I think my first problem was I put on too thick of a coat of Bondo, which turned into much more sanding I had to do. Secondly, I wasn't entirely sure where/when in the process to separate the helmet into it's pieces so it can be put on. I did it after my first coat of Bondo, however I have a feeling I should have done it earlier. I used a Dremel to cut, and chose a preexisting seam along which to cut.

IMG_4050.JPG