Foam vs. Fiberglass

lechnoid

I'm new to this. VERY new. I just got done assembling my very first pep file ever...a Witch King helmet. I've been lurking for a while. I have to say, you guys do some very impressive work!

I poking around, I just seem to be missing info on the basics.

For my helmet, I'll be doing some basic reinforcement to hold shape while I put on the 1st layer of resin. This seems to be the universally accepted next step once the paper foundation is assembled. My problem is I need to figure out what is next after that first layer of resin.

I've seen a lot of both fiberglass and foam. If I understand correctly, the differences is that foam is lighter, but fiberglass is more durable. I'm sure there's more to it, but I'm ignorant of further differences. Materials scientist, I am not. If the differences I listed are the only major ones, I would prefer the durability. I have a hunch that my helmet will be hitting some door frames in course of its wearing.

I'm sure there's guides or stickies that I've missed, so I tossed on my flame retardant suit ahead of time. Thanks ahead of time for guidance or advice.

Hi lechnoid,

From what you have posted it looks like there is a little confusion. (I'm not the expert but here's my take on it) there are 2 main methods of using Pepakura.

1) The paper > resin > fiberglass > bondo route
2) The foam > plastidip > bondo route.