The Fifth Element - Korben Dallas

Risu

Master Member
This has been my favorite movie pretty much since the first time I saw it, and I've always wanted to make this costume, but put it off because I didn't want to deal with making my hair blond or wearing a backless, sleeveless shirt. Well, no more putting it off.

About a month ago I got a job where I have access to a mill and connections with machinists, and I started learning SolidWorks so that I could make a full metal (well, actually more like 75% metal until I can afford to buy/find a real Vektor) KD-1 blaster. MattMunson was also cool enough to let me measure and trace his screen used holster. A couple weeks later, I started thinking that in addition to the gun it would be really cool to put the costume together. So I started doing some light research, and after finding the ID on the boots from Prop Store (made by the German company Buffalo) I got really into the search. Buffalo no longer makes the boots, but New Rock makes a very close knockoff (actually it's hard to say who knocked off who).

NEWROCKWORLD

The differences being the emblem, the straps, and the soles. I ordered a pair of these boots and they're currently sitting in my apartment's mail room until I can pick them up in the morning. The first modification will be to remove the metal emblem, then I'll cover up the hole with a leather patch. The strap will be slightly more difficult, and I'll bring them by my local shoe repair place to see if new soles are even an option. It would run at least $100, so if I can find the soles I'll probably just do the work myself.

The next hurdle was the shirt. I search for days for orange corrugated rubber sheeting, but couldn't find anything close. Finally I decided that I'd make it from fabric when I found this:

Bright Orange Poor Boy Knit - Discount Fabrics