MPC Cygnus

mrchester

RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
I started this a couple of years back. The hardest part was (is) not to be intimidated by the model. I wanted a way to make the frames stand out cleanly, and my hand painting skills suck. I finally decided that I would mill out the back of the pieces leaving just the lattice work. I have also made molds of some of the parts and vacuum cast them with marine epoxy. Thats some stong stuff.

View attachment 142724

Sweet! I have a couple of Cygnus kits waiting for me to do something with them. That's an excellent idea!

Forgive me but I am a posting newbie. The problem with back milling is that the plasic has a slight rubbery density to it. I has a couple of break throughs in the lattice. The good thing about the parts is that each piece had a rectangular or sqaure section to clamp on to. After machining, I cut the bow and rear sections into individual flat plates. After that there was a lot of time finishing with large lathe and mill files ( by the way, I am a machinist). When the backing gets thin enough (it is actually somewhat transperant) You can blow out the offending pats with an airhose. However, there were a lot of knife skills used in this part. Coming soon, molds, resins and custom made vacuum chambers. Also, if you want something done right, do it several different ways.
View attachment 142740

View attachment 142741

View attachment 142742

Ambitious work, looking forward to seeing it progress. I read somewhere that the kit is a bit short, while you're casting you may want to make an extra hull segment to lengthen it.

Hoo! This is looking great. Were you posting on Hobbytalk or somewhere a while back? I came across that build but didn't stay tuned. My mistake!

Thanks guys fir the kind words,