Need a special Prop Gun made . . . help!

Fiveacre Films

Hello, I'm a filmmaker, not a prop maker, and I need help with a special kind of prop gun. We are currently in production on a period film-noir inspired comedy that's set in the 1940s. We have already assembled most of the period-correct props and wardrobe needed, but there is one prop that I'll need to have made: I need a replica of a 1908 Vest Pocket model Colt .25 handgun, with a finish that looks nickel plated with pearl grips just like the one pictured here:
400px-Colt1908VestPocketNickel.jpg

Now here's the kicker . . . I need this prop made of foam rubber or some other compressible/pliable material so that we are able to insert the whole gun inside an actors mouth. The scene calls for him to "cough up" the gun and extract it from his mouth (sounds weird, but this is a screwball comedy). Yes, I could do this shot with VFX, but it will be so much more effective if we can do it as a practical effect. I have an airsoft replica of the gun that someone could use to make a mold from, if that would help. I see it being made from something similar to a Nerf football where it has a slick solid outer layer that can be painted, but a soft foamy inside that would allow it to be compressed and folded as needed.

Can I get any help here?

Compressible, pliable, nickel coating and all food safe. You don't ask for much do you?
I think you might be correct with using foam rubber, but the closest you will get would probably be mixing food coloring to get a somewhat silver color, since I don't think any silver paint would be safe to put in your mouth, especially if it is painted on a foam rubber medium. This probably wouldn't stand up to any close inspection, so you would probably have to switch to a more realistic looking prop after it has been regurgitated.

TazMan2000

My wife actually has food-safe airbrush coloring in silver that she uses for cakes, so that certainly could be used.