Tips to paint a Luke Jedi stunt saber (from ILM mold) - PICS ADDED

TylerHam

Hi all

I have a Luke Jedi stunt saber - the one shot from r2 (I'm no saber expert so I don't know it's designation) that is taken from the ILM original molds. I need to strip some paint and clean up the small mold line, but I'm curious about the paints to use. The brushed silver and metallic copper - is there a reliable spray paint I can use for these?

Anyone who has painted one before, would love some help!

Tyler

Last edited:
Re: Tips to paint a Luke Jedi stunt saber

I'm afraid I can't help with the paint, would love to see it though, pics?

Hi there,

if you truly have a stunt saber from the original ILM molds I would not clean up the mold line since that would be the only distinction from all other replica's out there and make it much more valuable. However as thd9791 suggested pictures would be nice . . . before you do any modifications.

-Chaim

Sorry for the slow pic taking! Hard to shoot being black - But here it is - REsin with thin black primer..

Its smaller than the regulat saber - I was told so it can fit through the R2 Dome - The mold line is VERY hard to see - Almost TOO hard to see if you dont know where to look, so maybe I will just leave it...

jedistunt.jpg

Re: Tips to paint a Luke Jedi stunt saber - PICS ADDED

Im no saber expert so if this is something else, please let me know!

You have it right, that is a copy of what eventually became the hero saber. The mold line on my own is not pretty and there are obviously some problems with the overall geometry. A minor trim, fill some bubbles, and shoot it silver. The original versions weren't anything more than a rattle can finish.

If I'm not mistaken, it's a cast of the prop after the control box was modified. Which was either during the end or after filming wrapped, as the modified box never saw screen time. It's amazing to see another ILM cast though, You are a lucky person to own one!