A Rehearsal for My (Hopefully) Perfect 1/72 Millennium Falcon

Avanaut

Hi All!

There are so many threads on the Finemolds' 1/72 Millennium Falcon, so many! One more won't hurt. See, I'm one of those guys who quit model building at the age of about 20. The kits you can purchase these days is just something that I could've never dream of back in the day, the possibilities are almost limitless, yet, at the core, it's all still the same. Kitbashing hasn't changed at all, same rules, better paints. It took me over two decades to return to the workbench and I love it, but I didn't come back for just the models, I came back with a camera.

I'm an illustrator by profession, a little bit of a photographer, too. I needed to try shooting some realistic miniatures, for that I began experimenting with the Finemolds' 1/72 Y-Wing in Jan 2012. Building the ship was a lot of fun and I have managed to shoot some nice photos with it. I have another one in store for building a lighted up version later.

6825607869_b4d9fb2400_b.jpg

set-72157629820469175
(Link to my Flickr folder of a few more scale model photographs)

After the Y-Wing it was time for something a bit more challenging: the Finemolds' 1/72 Millennium Falcon. It started out in March 2012 as a simple oob build, but as I was gluing on the first parts it quickly became clear that it had to be lit properly in order to stand out. I've tinkered with soldering and led lamps a bit before, so that did not scare me off.