Logans Run Carousel Mask Replica

Vandark

Sr Member
Hi there,

I recently aquired a Logan's Run style Mylec Hockey mask.

e9_1.JPG

What i'm wanting to do is to convert it to look just like the mask used in the movie.

mask2.jpg

To begin with, I need to fill in/re-shape some of the existing holes in the mask.

What i'd like to know, if anybody can help, is:

1) What would be best used to fill in the holes in the mask?
2) What would I use to cut/re-shape new holes into the mask?

Taking into consideration that the mask is made from plastic.

Although i'm a novice at this sort of thing, i've got good clay sculpting and cardboard modelling skills, so I think I can do a pretty good job on it, I just need a few pointers.

Thanks for any help.

Richard

Richard,

Cool project. I love that mask, in a '70s kinda way... :)

Anyhow, sounds like you want to fill in the holes on your existing mask and then recut them to match the movie prop? This has come up before and IIRC the filming prop was vac-formed and the cape/hood was stitched over the vac'ed plastic.

Instead of reworking your existing mask, it may be easier to lay some bondo into the back of it and slowly build it up into the eyes and mouth until you can sand the areas you want to reshape smooth. Then use that as a buck and vac directly over it. Then, you can cut your vacu-formed mask anyway you want. And make more, if you cut too much... ;)

I picked up one of these from an online sporting goods store awhile ago, and coincidentally, just last night at about 2am, decided to hang it over my DSG. I have given some thought to cutting the eyes to better match the film prop, but short of vac-ing my own, that's probably as far as I'd want to take the OEM mask.

DSG courtesy of Rylo. Thanks, Ry. :D

Good luck, and post whatever you decide to try...
Allan

[image]http://home.comcast.net/~imaginager/CarMask2.jpg[/image]
[image]http://home.comcast.net/~imaginager/CarMask4.jpg[/image]