Blade Runner blaster prop questions

slynger

RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
After using the search, I found several threads relating to this prop but was unable to see where my questions would fit in. So, if this needs to be moved or merged, I understand.

Now that that's out of the way -

I'm looking to get a Blade Runner blaster prop. I don't want to spend a ton of money on it, but I do want it to be accurate. It doesn't have to match everything down to the last scratch, but the more accuracy the better.

After searching last night I bumped into the Off World Inc. prop. While not as accurate as I wanted, I did notice some parts that upgrade the accuracy. Is this a decent prop?

What suggestions do the experts have?

I am NO expert but I think your choices are basically:

Off World "upgraded metal upper receiver" pistol= $350-$500

Sidkit all metal "latest version" = $400-$800

I am NO expert but I think your choices are basically:

Off World "upgraded metal upper receiver" pistol= $350-$500

Sidkit all metal "latest version" = $400-$800

Can you elaborate on the Sidkit, I never came across info on that one?

The sidkit isn't really available any longer. Sid passed away. Someone he knew sells the occasional resin model kit on ebay. Even Offworld does not sell their model all the time.

Here is a good resource to learn what goes on in the blade runner blaster replica world.
Propsummit.com a Blade Runner Prop Community Forum BladeRunnerProps.comView topic - replica blaster history and timeline. Last updated 9/17/11

Presently, well, I'm sure Rich will chime in, but Rich is the only guy who makes his replica all the time and takes orders. I don't know what you consider a ton of money, but you will be paying hundreds of dollars for any currently produced replica I'm afraid. Otherwise, just keep an eagle eye on ebay and use a lot of patience and you may get lucky and find a replica for a decent price.