the various shapes of the Millennium Falcon

batguy

Master Member
Hey all, noob here. I have a question that you guys might be able to answer about the Falcon.

The MF was onscreen in roughly 5 major forms during the movies:

1. ILM 5' model
2. ILM 32" model
3. partial full-scale exterior shell for ANH
4. complete full exterior shell for ESB
5 ILM 3d model for CGI additions in 1997

What is known about the consistency of the shape?

I know the 5' model was built first with more of a rounded shape. I know the 32" model was built for ESB with more of a "hockey puck" shape.

Are the dimensions of the 2 soundstage mockups known? And what about the 3d computer model in the 1990s? I assume these versions were all based off the ILM models in some way, do we know which ones were based off which?

I think the ESB soundstage exterior shell was the best Falcon Lucasfilm ever did. Biggest, complete, most closeup screen time, etc. If I wanted to replicate any of them, it would be that one. The 5' ILM model may have come first but I think the ESB full size shell did more to cement what the ship looks like in our memories.

------

Last edited:
There are a few other models of the Falcon as well... a 10ish inch one that hung beneath the medical rigate, and a REALLY small one on the back of the SD bridge.

But if you're looking for consistency of shape or even dinesions you're outta luck... particularly if you're going to include the live action set piece.

The 3D model was based off the 32 inch model and has its general shape and detailing.

Jedi Dade

I'm mainly interested in the complete full-scale exterior shell that was built for ESB. I would imagine that it was probably based on either the 5ft or the 32" model but I don't know which one.

looking at the movie I'm thinking it may have been the 5' model, at least for the hull curvature & low sidewall height. But the full size exterior doesn't have the stubby short cockpit canopy of the 5-footer.