"Captain America, how exciting!" TWS TFA Rescue USO and Ultimates WW2

Fly4v

Sr Member
This is my first build here, ACTUALLY AT ALL, and I have been working on this for about a month before joining so the posts will be catch-up and WIP.
For first exposure to a sewing machine surprised that no fingers have yet to be blooded.

Last edited:
Re: "Captain America, how exciting!"

The first thing I started with was the movie-(ish) heater shield. It has earned the ish because the back is silver while screen accurate is gold, the straps and handle on the back are not accurate at all, and the small stars are too close together.
I can post WIPs but I think people have seen enough shields.

Here is the drawing I started with:

Here is the finished shield:

It was painted with Krylon outdoor rattle cans and weathered with folkart acrylics, porfolio pastels and staedtler permanent lumocolor markers.
Everything was sealed in hand brushed Future. When the surface was tacky I went over spots with a foam brush to ad matte streaks to simulate scoring.

Last edited:

Glad you like what this thus far. Hope that I can help contribute to the community.

Next the helmet.

I have a real M-1C helmet with a complete set of restored straps and a perfect liner. Still jump-able.
Collectors don't worry. It was not used.

My sin is quite larger for those that care about Army v navy. I have a navy M-1 that I got about 1980. The chin strap is broken on one side and has decades of, what I assume, was lead gray paint.

After some very careful stripping with a mask. Here is what it looked like. So it started service as something more just your average shoe's helmet but specific position don't know.

The white is very durable. The blue not so much. The buckle on the goggles likes to scratch it.

The final helmet is not historically accurate. I didn't have ground up bits of cork to mix in the paint. Don't know if the USO girls helmets are textured in the movie or not.