PL Enterprise A

MGC

Sr Member
I've always loved the A and the recent auction has pushed me over the edge. The PL kit is so reasonably priced on eBay, too...

However, I am a beginner when it comes to building. With models, especially. The only thing I've completed recentely is a Ghostbusters Proton Pack. About 1/3rd of it, I scratch built myself (the last two photos highlight where), and I assembled/prepped/painted the thing myself (the weathering is not done yet).

s27bm6.jpg

s210dp5.jpg

s23mm0.jpg

However, I know the A would be a whole different kettle of fish to a prop like this. I have no airbrush (or any experience with one). The aztec patterns terrify me. Some of the buildups of the ship I've seen here make me want to die. I've read about Enterprise models in general, sagging and warping. Would I need to prep this one much?

The short of it is - can a novice build this thing, or should I stay well away?

Matt

If no-one can give me any advice, can someone at least point me in the direction of the Aztec templates?

I remember a thread here chronicling a really nice buildup, you might want to do a search for that. While, the kit would look good in one color; you could easily use a different finish of clearcoat if you had some aztec masks. That way it would be low risk, should any mistakes occur. It would still be white afterall. Evaluate your financial risk too. Say you go through one kit and you're not happy with it. You are guaranteed to build up one better a second time. Many experienced model builders will purchase two kits just in case.

Killer pack by the way...

Can I get one of those? My kid brother really wants one.

The 1701-A is a serious challenge, especially if you want to reproduce how it looked in the first Star Trek movie, when it was at its beautifullest. :D