Starter Advice

Madeye

Hello All!
I would like to ask advice. I am just getting started in modeling/prop building. I wondered if anyone had advice on some basic tools I should gather. I know there are a number of different mediums and different but there has to be some overlap tools, knives etc. I guess if you would had a "I wish I had thought to get..." moment, I'd like to know.
Cheers!
Will

Hi Madeye,

that is a very difficult question at best, kinda like asking "what sites should I visit in Internet". :) Not only will you get a different answer from everyone, whether or not the answer is helpful depends completely on what exactly you want to do. Are you interested in model kit building, scratch building, molding/casting, electrical, etc. the sky is the limit. Best is probably to just start a project and if you get stumped somewhere along the line ask a question specifically in that direction.

if it helps you any I can just list some of the stuff I use alot,,, but like I said it completely depends on what type of project I am doing.

I have a Dremmel 4000 with a Drill press for drilling straight holes
I use my normal Drill and jigsaw as well
Watch makers diamond file set
Sandpaper of various grades
pliers
clamps
and about a hundred other little odds and ends

Sorry I could not help you more.

Jason

Last edited:
It's exactly what I am asking. I never thought about watch maker files (saw a set at a flea market recently). It also makes think about what I would use it on. I know it's a broad topic. I am convalescing am looking to get started at building something like a ghostbuster trap. I truly thank you for the ideas and input, Jason.
Cheers!
Will

Basic modeling tools that are also used in prop making.

No. 1 tool - X-acto knife and get a box of 100 blades
Low tac tape (blue painters tape works well)
To go with the mentioned sand paper also get a sanding block
Good quality paint brushes in assorted sizes
Regular files for larger jobs