Mpc/ertl millennium falcon build

MARK M3

Master Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
Hey Guys.

Well I am finally going to start this project!

My goal(without going totally insane), Is to get the MPC Kit to look like my favorite version of the Falcon from Star Wars 1977(ANH).

After building 2 Fine Molds Falcons, I find I still want that Model of the 5' Falcon.

So to ask some of the experts out there...

1)How high in inches should the sidewalls be?(If I can get a set from Falcon Kits, I may go that route, If I can get in touch with Jack Smith!!??).
2)I know the Cockpit, Cockpit Tube and Docking areas are all under sized,Again, what Diameter should they be??
3)I know the model as is is too flat......

There will be more questions to be sure, But I want to start with the Cockpit and Sidewalls for now..

Hi Beatlepaul I'm not an expert but using that famous 5-footer topview where the Mazda Wankel is visible the cockpit diameter measures 6 inches. And using a photo of the Wankel sideview the mandibles are 2 inches thick. The mandibles go inside the hull and are as thick as the sidewalls but the sidewalls look even more narrow because of the overhangs. Ozzy has a cool spreadsheet and you might want to Google John Martin's falcon build he has all the measurements there too including plans of the cockpit tube.

BP, Nice to see you taking a crack at it. PM me and I will send you the spread sheet. John Martin helped me out with some of the sizing so I am confidant the measurmnets to correct the AMT to 5' scale is very close. I have some side wall templates for 5' etc as well I think.

Glad to help out were I can, look forward to your build.

Ozzy

BP, Nice to see you taking a crack at it. PM me and I will send you the spread sheet. John Martin helped me out with some of the sizing so I am confidant the measurmnets to correct the AMT to 5' scale is very close. I have some side wall templates for 5' etc as well I think.

Glad to help out were I can, look forward to your build.

Ozzy