New BladeRunner badges cold-cast aluminium

Blad

Sr Member
I've been making the spinner badge for a while, but this cold-cast aluminium one came out really well.

bladerunnerspinner.jpg

Police Cap Badge cold-cast

bladerunnerpolice.jpg

995 Police (unfinished) and BladeRunner Symbol cold-cast

995symbol.jpg

brbadgesetsizes-1.jpg

Is the process used to cast these suckers called "lost wax"? I'm new to casting and molding, and I'm learning this stuff slowly but surely. :) The idea of casting molten medal is a bit intimidating to be honest. :)

Is the bottom pic clay masters? I like the owl.

Nice work. Love me some blade runner swag. :lol

<div class='quotetop'>(Noeland @ Aug 21 2006, 06:42 PM) [snapback]1304758[/snapback]</div>
Is the process used to cast these suckers called "lost wax"? I'm new to casting and molding, and I'm learning this stuff slowly but surely. :) The idea of casting molten medal is a bit intimidating to be honest. :)

Is the bottom pic clay masters? I like the owl.

Nice work. Love me some blade runner swag. :lol
[/b]

Cold casting is a process where you use metal powder mixed in resin. So basically it's a resin cast with metal powder mixed in to give the look of aluminum.

<div class='quotetop'></div>
Cold casting is a process where you use metal powder mixed in resin. So basically it's a resin cast with metal powder mixed in to give the look of aluminum.[/b]

Ahhhhhh I see. Thank you for the clarification. I suppose I should have gleaned that COLD casting denotes a complete lack of molten anything. :lol especially medal. or as some spell it, metal.

I'll blame it on being sick all weekend from food poisoning. :eek:

Yep - cold-cast aluminium 2 parts urethane to 1 part aluminium powder by volume. :) And then polish, polish, polish with a bit more polishing thrown in for good measure.