Tron 1 Lightcycle model kit

Davlin

Hello to the RPF forum users,

Well, it's almost a year since I became a member of the RPF community, but it's my first post here to talk about one of my humble projects.

I wanted to create a model kit of the famous Lightcycle from Tron 1. Toys were too pricy and / or not accurate enough ( when you were lucky enough to found them ), some garage kits were really good but went out of production long before I found the articles about them on the Web, and the challenge to make it myself all pushed me to try to create mine, up to the best I could. I'm not a prop genius but it's worth a try. :)

The whole idea was to model an accurate as possible Lightcycle in 3D parts, have those printed in hard plastic, sandpaper them, mold them, make copies in resin with clear parts and paint / glue them together with a cool base and light jetwall.

I tried to design the parts in 3DS MAX in a way that assembling, gluing and painting would be as easy as possible. It took me a long time, lots of hours, to figure out the parts because all of the details that popped here and there and the way the pieces have to be assembled, plus I had to take into account the printing process and material limitations.

Here are some renders :

render1201.jpg

A beauty render of the whole model. As you can see, I've added a plus I've never see before, which is the pilot. I can tell you, this was a pain in the *tweet* because there was a lot of tweaking to do to have a correct-sized pilot into the bike, in a believeable way. But, I think it was worth the effort.

render1202.jpg

An exploded view of the various parts, on one half, with the assembled other half. I decided to cut apart the pieces by color, so they can be painted in a group, without masking or such. The green areas are where the glue will be.

Driver01.jpg