"hero" props that are not????

mrbungle

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
i am new to the screenused prop game. i have noticed people advertising screen used hero props used by a certian characters in a movie. but the certificate says nothing about the charecters that is suppose to be the one who used it. what is the deal with that???

then the certificate says so and so screen used hero prop but it is made of rubber and poorly at that??

thanks for taking the time to answer a noobs questions.......

I think the main issue comes from the fact people like to believe that the large amount of money they shelled out for a specific item is the Hero piece and was definitely seen on screen during that items most prominent moment.
As saying 'stunt' or saying it's made of resin or rubber, or one of the many many duplicates that were made for the production makes it seem less impressive somehow and it loses the wow factor they're looking for as there are "better" versions out there.
I find people on Yourprops love to throw that word around in reference to just about any item they have that has any link to a main character.
Unfortunately people having the Hero piece is rarely the case and in my experience those pieces are almost always labeled as such by the production, or are quite obviously the hero piece from screen matching it using marks, dings, dents on it against the close ups in the film etc

Last edited:
I think the main issue comes from the fact people like to believe that the large amount of money they shelled out for a specific item is the Hero piece and was definitely seen on screen during that items most prominent moment.

Very true...and sadly as we know the most likely piece to be kept by the studios or the director/star etc....I wish I knew who invented the term....they have alot to make up for...especially on yourprops.

Exactly, that's why I don't really understand the thought behind it.