Wooden Mjolnir Build

Discussion in 'Marvel Costumes and Props' started by TheWolfofBees, May 31, 2015.

1. TheWolfofBees

TheWolfofBees New Member

Hello Everyone!

I am an amateur builder/prop make who runs a small woodworking shop in Ontario, Canada. In the past I've done a few video game replicas but recently I started working on Marvel inspired prop: Mjolnir!

I've seen a lot of really awesome builds of it done on here but none of them were quite what I was looking for. I primarily in the past have worked in wood and so am attempting this build entirely out of wood.

Feedback/Comments/Criticisms is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
    -The Wolf of Bees

I started with making the large block that the head of the hammer would be cut from. Rather than spending a lot on a large enough solid piece I opted for glueing thinner 1.5" thick pieces together I had lying around. Once they were sized out to the 7.5" ish legnth of the prop they were cut out on the table saw.

IMG_20150317_124611.jpg

It took 4 blocks to make up the entire bulk with the 4th one being chopped slightly to take off the extra .5". Sorry if some of the pictures are a blurry, I was rushing a bit and not paying attention to the quality of photos I was taking.

IMG_20150407_185214.jpg

The final block after being all glued up and dried for 24 hours. It's very solid and has a nice weight to it. Heavy enough you know it's there, but not too heavy that you can't pick it up and spin it around.

IMG_20150407_171727.jpg

I hope to have some more pictures/work finished soon so stay tuned!

2. The Full Armor

The Full Armor Active Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

Looking forward to more pictures. Are you you planning to use a wood burning tool to create the designs?

3. TheWolfofBees

TheWolfofBees New Member

I'm not quite sure yet to be honest. I had initially planned on relief carving all of them. We'll see, it will be a lot of hand work either way!

---