WIP Jawa Ion Blaster, laser cut

Mandelstam

Hi! First off, as I'm a new member and all, I'm Kalle from Sweden and have been following this forum for a while now. First thing when I sit down on the bus for work every morning - Tapatalk and the RPF! You guys are so inspiring and talented! I work as an architect and that can be very inspiring as well but some of the things I see here, man, it's unbelievable, pure magic! I thought I had a long list of projects i wanted to do before I ended up here, but now that list is like a mile long!

Together with my six year old son, Harrison (we first thought about naming him Indiana but as my wife's name is Diana we settled for the second best :love) I'm in the progress of making us a Jawa costume (for Harrison) and a Tusken costume for myself. I've soon fully assembled my Tusken helmet kit (from Godzilla) and are desperately trying to find some accurate fabric for the robes. But it turned out to be quite difficult I'm afraid...:lolMight have a look around NYC when we go there in a couple of weeks on holiday. Anyone have any tips on any good fabric stores in NYC?

In the meantime I'm working on a Ion blaster for the Jawa costume. Not the Enfield based blaster but the other one, the one discussed here. It seems to be a bit hard to identify the parts used for the prop so first I thought about going down the pvc road as another member here did with amazing results- look here! But then I got into contact with a friend of ours who is running a public workshop here in town which is paid by the city and the university, inspired by the FabLab concept from M.I.T. in Boston. You bring your own materials and they give you access to a big workshop fully loaded with tools and machinery, free of charge! I thought I'd come to heaven when I first heard of it, we live in a quite small apartment and the kitchen table is usually the place for any projects I'm working on...