WIP: Ghostbusters 1 & 2 Particle Throwers!!

Rhett J Martin

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
The particle throwers from Ghostbusters are one of my favorite props out there since I was a kid. I've made many versions, some bad, some good, but I've always found them to be a rewarding challenge. I've also found that they are probably one of the hardest props out there to replicate correctly.

I've been toying with a redesigned kit for about 9 months, having had the oppuruntiy due to a job I took doing a fan film. My biggest redesign targets were a stronger front of the gun box, more accurate heatsink, better light covers, and better castings of Clippards and bolts.

So, bascially, everything . . .

I was happy to get the final bits and bobs from the real world to make this as accurate as possible, and at this point, the only real piece I'm missing is a heat sink. Mine was scratched from plastic. Everything else on my throwers that has a real world counterpart is there. I think my biggest 'thank you' has to go to Exoray for getting a set of hat lights to me, and getting those id'd.

What's really fun about these, is the initial parts are plain enough that you can make either version. After alot of my own research and file compiling, I've chosen to emmulate the two throwers that have been around and on display for the last two years.

Here's a few shots of the two I've got done, which are actually getting finished up as I type!

10593-wands3.jpg

10592-wands2.jpg

10591-wands1.jpg

GB1 features:

1. Sharp cornered heat sink with socket head screw details
2. Uncovered Nycoil ends
3. Correctly curved edges on front of gun body
4. Correct bolt and screw placement on handle lock, push button block, roller mounts, and handle mount.
5. Screws on front handle mount also have brass spacers
6. Adjustment knobs all have the correct screws detailing each.
7. Slo-Blo bar has accurate empty space under the red light space. This is if someone wants to make a real beat up replica.