What to use to mold a mask?

I'm working on a V costume and I've gone through the process of moulding my face and now have the cast. I'm very new to this. I've never created anything like this before.

What do you guys recommend for actually creating the mask? I'll want to do a small layer first and make sure it fits my face properly before I spend a bunch of time adding a bunch of detail.

Is there something I can mold with my hands that will harden after?
Or will I have to do the sculpting and then have a mask made another way?

Any/all help and advice is appreciated!

Hey Mitch!

I had a similar need for a set of gauntlets, and a friend of mine threw me a really simple setup:
Plaster Wrap
Link

Petroleum Jelly (Vaseline)
A bowl of water
and about 20-30 minutes

IMG_20160506_123846.jpg

For your scenario: I'd suggest setting up a mirror and doing this mostly on your back/ head laying back but your execution is up to you.

Cut a few strips to the lengths you feel you need, test lay them out for this DRY. once you feel you have enough, cut out an extra 6 (qty) 3-4: lengths to use as added strengthening as needed/desired

lay everything out and lather yourself up with the jelly.

dip the plaster into the water, and begin applying it in however manner you see fit

when you finish applying the plaster, wait about 10 minutes and then you can start to carefully peel off the plaster

this plaster may be fabric reinforced but it is crazy fragile all the same.

peel off carefully and lay out to dry ~2hrs @ 70 degrees Fahrenheit
start to finish, this took me 30 minutes. and for me not moving my dominant hand for 30 mins was a nightmare...

but I have a kickass gauntlet positive (unfortunately I don't have the most updated picture, I'll upload that when I'm home again.)

IMG_20160506_125948.jpg