Viking Lander Watkins-Johnson 274 Traveling Wave Tube Amplifier

Radio Ron W4RON

I’m working on a kind of unusual replica, it’s not a movie prop.

I guess first I’ll introduce myself, I’m a collector of antique radios and vacuum tubes, I’ve been collecting for over 45 years. Most of that time I was mainly a radio collector, I have over 500 radios and pieces of vintage test equipment in my collection. I have over 600 vacuum tubes on display in my collection. I have a number of historic radar and microwave tubes, early cathode ray tubes (CRTs), early transmitting tubes and some of the first tubes made for radio use.

A few months ago a friend was visiting the local flea market where he found something he was sure I’d be interested it. It’s a aluminum Zero Halliburton carrying case for a Viking Lander Traveling Wave Tube Amplifier (TWTA). There were 2 of these on each of the Mars Viking 1 & 2 Landers. They were the main part of the communications system allowing the Landers to talk back to earth. The TWTA were made by Watkins-Johnson and were their type 274 TWTA.

I’m a member of the Tube Collectors Association (TCA) and a member of their Board of Directors. One of the TCA members worked for Watkins-Johnson and was head of the Viking TWTA test team. He has told me that he made a number of trips to JPL hand carrying a 274 TWTA in a case exactly like mine. When he traveled they bought two plane tickets, one for him and one for the Zero carrying case. They were insured for $1,000,000 each.

What I hope to do is build a replica of the W-J 274 TWTA, I’ve settled for a replica since I’ve been told that no original 274 exist, period.

I hope to find someone with NASA or JPL or whoever that may be able to find some original photos of the W-J 274. So far I’ve written to NASA History and JPL with no response at all. Surely someone has photos that were taken during the build of the Viking Landers, so far I haven’t been able to find them….