Various OT lightsaber parts (TFA clamp covers and bottoms now available)

Discussion in 'Star Wars Costumes and Props' started by roygilsing, Nov 4, 2014.

1. roygilsing

roygilsing Sr Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

**** UPDATE FEB 2016: TFA edge connector clamp cards available ****
    **** UPDATE JUNE 2016: TFA clamp covers and bottom plates available ****

Hi all, let's start with some of my art work:
    Luke-ANH.1663.jpg obi-wan-kenobi-lightsaber-weathered.1279.jpg Luke-ANH-2.2056.jpg

Not so long ago, not even a year, my obsession with lightsabers started with Obi-Wan's lightsaber from ANH. Since then I was hooked. Because I'm into CAD modeling as a design engineer, I wanted to build the most accurate 3D model of the OB1. I posted some computer renderings of the result on this forum back then, like the ones above. I was pleased with the result and when I had the chance I ordered the weathered OB1 replica from Roman's Empire which was truly amazing!

I quickly learned more about the other saber hilts from the original trilogy (Graflex!) and started to collect parts for my own builds. As a product developer I wanted to use my skills and add something to the replica prop building community and instead of buying the parts I needed, I developed my own. (I'm also very stubborn!). I made very accurate CAD models of all the parts, by measuring real parts and by reverse engineering from pictures of original props, and then used various fabrication techniques for the production.

The parts I made so far:

• T-track profile; for the Graflex & MPP saber grips and E-11 stormtrooper blaster
    • D-ring with clip; from Luke's ANH saber
    • Exactra Bubble strip; used in many sabers
    • Kobold clip (from the droid caller) used on Luke's ESB with a D-ring
    • Belt Clip from Luke in ANH, ESB and ROTJ (maybe also good for other costumes)
    • PCB Edge connector; clamped in the Graflex of Luke's ESB