Vader build WIP

Discussion in 'Star Wars Costumes and Props' started by poholio, Nov 14, 2011.

1. poholio

poholio Active Member

Hello,

This is my first post here at the RPF.
    I have been reworking a Rubies Vader lid for a bit now and I have scratch-built the other armor parts. Here's what I have so far:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]

A question for anyone else who's scratch-built the armor: any advice/tips on how to make the pauldrons? I can't get the Sintra to bend in the correct curve, and I haven't found any extant item that fits the bill. Anyone have any luck in this area?

BTW: The stuff here is genius! Really brilliant work!
    Regards,
    Justin

Last edited: Sep 11, 2012
  2. Maelstrom

Maelstrom Sr Member

Re: Vader pauldron advice

Looks good to me, but I'm no Vader expert.

As for the shoulder bells you may have to cut the sintra so that when it bends it matches up and makes the curves. Seal the seam from the bottom with GOOP and then sand down and glazing putty the seam on top

3. omel

omel Well-Known Member

theres a pep file done by Fierfek that you might want to try...or Stealth's foam tutorials for something similar...have you checked out the mini vader scratch built by TK171? its really great reading:thumbsup

4. glarks

glarks New Member

Depends on the movie version you are after. Looks like yours is an ESB or ROTJ model. You can find some reference data at Chest Armour and they also have templates on the armour and pauldrons. Youv'e done a great job already, they look great.

5. Qui-Gonzalez

Qui-Gonzalez Master Member

That center ridge needs a LOT of work. Smooth down that ridgeline on it., widen the strip in the middle. I don't want to critique it too hard as you are scratch building, but there is a LOT of reference material out there to look at.

As to your question, why not try sculpting a form from clay or something to heat the sintra over?

6. poholio

poholio Active Member

Thanks for the input, guys.