V for Vendetta MASK project

Marco Felth

Hello, guys

First of all, this is my very first post and project, so I am a total noob.
I 3d printed a V mask I sculpted myself using Maya and movie frames as reference. But, in the end the printed mask happened to be too narrow on the sides. I mean, it should be broader so it can fit in my head. It is not wide enough.
I intend to use this mask, once polished and smooth, to make a silicon mold.
It was printed in PVC, how can I somehow heat it and then warp it?

Thank you
DSC_0202.JPGDSC_0203.JPGDSC_0206.JPG

ahoudini

Sr Member
RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
It looks great! I would print a simple curved shape, like a 1 inch "slice" of the mask and work with a heat gun to get a feel for the material. You need a proper respirator, though, as PVC gives off toxic fumes when heated. Pressing it over a wider wooden form when heated might help. Changing the 3D model and reprinting is not a better idea?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Naveed2331

According to the Internet, you should be able to reshape pvc with a heat gun and a form of some sort. I'd suggest a mannequin head or, if you're feeling really ambitious, a mold of your own head. I'd heat it from the inside only.

I don't mean to be negative about this but, considering the high cost of the materials involved in rapid prototyping and the fact you can buy a screen-accurate replica on ebay for $3.89, why did you choose a Guy Fawkes mask as your first project?

Sent from my SM-G925W8 using Tapatalk

Marco Felth

Thank you for your ideas and kind words. I do not own a heat gun, a simple hair dryer could do?
Ahoudini: Printing one of this costs 55 euros, if I can fix it on my own, it would be better.
Naveed: I do not like the masks you find on ebay, I want a more screen accurate mask :)

Lunajammer