Tormund Giantsbane

drewthecostumer

"Gingers are beautiful. We are kissed by fire."
So being a ginger, and being a ginger with beard growing capabilities, I've been told left and right by strangers and friends alike, "You look like that guy from Game of Thrones!" I think that's just a coloration profiling, but I guess I can see where they're coming from LOL. Being a big fan of the show AND the books, I decided it was an opportunity to make a costume from it. So, as I planned and whatnot, I just let the beard and my hair run wild. I did a few makeup tests as I went along, and here was one! I "finished," this costume for Katsucon back in February, but the final stages were a bit rushed, and I cut corners. I work in the film and television business, and on this upcoming Monday, I'll be sending in my resume and portfolio over to a producer for a job in which the costumes I'd be working on are a lot like Tormund's. Therefore, I'm going to turn this costume up to 11, and have it (along with other recent work) studio shot Saturday morning!

Z99fNzW.jpg
P5tSYqP.jpg

First part I started working on was the Collar. For this, I used goat hide with the fur still attached. For painting it, I applied a lot of acrylic really halfheartedly to give it a decent beat down finish. I punched the holes all manually, and then used a hemp cord and big ass needle to hand sew all of the parts together

LCFYOPd.jpg

I then went to the over coat. To reduce as much heat and weight as I could, I made it out of a super thin Pig Skin lining, and just trimmed the inside with the Mongolia Sheep Fur, which while I cannot confirm it's what they used, I'm pretty sure. The jacket is entirely hand sewn in a rough, "I did this beyond the wall,"fashion with crooked thick stitches unevenly spaced. I couldn't find any reference images on what the underside of the sleeves looked like, or the side under the arm pit, so I took some creative liberty with that, and left as many raw edges as possible.