The Saints are coming...the Saints are coming!

Bonanza

RPF PREMIUM MEMBER
For Halloween 2011, I along with my two sons were the Boondock Saints. As I am new to RPF, I attempted to take some photographs of work in progress, unfortunately I did not have time to post and create at the same time. A little background information...

My oldest son enlisted in the Marines and was attending boot camp. He graduated on 10-28-11 in time to come home for Halloween. My youngest son wrote to his brother and suggested the Boondock Saints for a costume. Once he replied, we had less than a month to put the costumes together while I worked 10 hour days, taught classes on weekends, and my youngest was in school. We flew to San Diego for the graduation of my oldest, so we were not able to work the week prior to Halloween.

So we channelled our Irish heritage and what follows is our adventure in creation...

Last edited:
First began the research. My sons own both the movies, so when we were home they pretty much were running in the background full time. I made a list of what was needed for one brother:

two Beretta style pistols
two silencers for pistols
sunglasses
rosary with Celtic cross
pea coat
tattoos: Latin phrase on finger, Celtic cross on forearm, and Virgin Mary icon on neck.

A week into the work and I was told I had to go as the father, Il Duce. This required:

shotgun
round sunglasses
butterfly tattoo on hand
cigar
gray hair and beard
hat similar to boat captain

(Yes, I wanted the six pistol vest but I had less than a month, perhaps next time)

I was also informed that in addition to learning the MacManus Family prayer, I had to memorize all of Il Duce's narrative and they were also learning the courtroom warning.

Following internet research which included reading through related threads on RPF, we took our notes and reference photos and went shopping.