The Rocketeer - 2 Firsts for the 30th

RuNvS

Hi everyone,

This is officially my first post on therpf. I’ve been quietly working on 2 projects for the past 6 months that I’ve never seen done before in honor of the 30th Anniversary of The Rocketeer. It’s a movie that has a personal connection for me tied to My Mother who is currently in the late stages of Frontal Temporal Dementia. Let’s just say I’ve been very motivated as of late.

My only social media account is on Instagram if you’d like to keep an eye out (tim_in-nh). Let me be up front by saying that none of this would be even remotely possible if it weren’t for the incredible friendships I’ve formed with several key people and their families tied to the production and the intellectual property. I am not a prop builder, I have never attended a convention and this is not a business. I have privately financed everything and put in the elbow work— I’ve also learned a lot from my failures.

Project 1: The Howard Hughes suitcase
This took an immense amount of effort due to the complete lack of photo evidence and partial angles from the film. I compiled enough images from new friends to identify the fabric used on the inside, the tool strap locations and even the exact make/model of the discontinued file folder that’s held in the lid. It’s still not perfect but it’s incredibly close. The hardest part honestly was picking up the leather trade for the handle and then installing over 200 brass rivets.

Project 2: The ZINC SPRAYED Cirrus X-3 rocketpack