The Rise of Johann Han'rre (Mando WIP)

Discussion in 'Replica Props' started by BananoPower22, Feb 29, 2012.

1. BananoPower22

BananoPower22 New Member

Hey guys! I'll be sharing some of my progress here on this thread with you all. It's my first attempt and building stuff... so it might not be pleasant to the eye! I've never used fiberglass before but I have worked with bondo before on many projects (car related... autobody repair shop). But I'm still a newbie, so any tips on how to make my armor would be AWESOME!

Here are some pictures:

Started out by cutting out the pieces from this template:

[​IMG]

Everything cut except the earscaps, range finder and keyhole from the helmet. I don't know how to build those, unfortunately :/

[​IMG]

I tried assembling it with paper but the outlook wasn't really pleasant to the eye...

[​IMG]

So what I did was I traced every single piece of paper on to a carton

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I used loctite (started using krazy glue once I ran out of loctite. The both of them work just fine. Same thing, different brand IMO.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

So here it is so far drying up. Actually it was a waste of tape since krazy glue takes like 10 seconds to fully dry... lol

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

So far so good huh?

[​IMG]

Added the dome : (templates http://www.instructables.com/files/orig/F6C/DR3U/G5FR5D53/F6CDR3UG5FR5D53.pdf)

[​IMG]

And now it's ready for fiberglass

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The way it ended up looking.. bumpy all over the dome wasn't exactly what I wanted (that and a couple of other mistakes...), they bothered me so I dremelled them out. BUT before I did that I added a layer of fiberglass on the inside for maximum sturdiness and extra weight

[​IMG]

Here it is with all the bumps and mistakes removed

[​IMG]

Bondo, of course!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

sanded with 80 grit paper and cleaned off the excess with water, that's why t looks shiny
    [​IMG]