Sweetums Build

JPorterCreative

Hey, I'm new to RPF even though I've been doing Cosplay for about 3 years now. I've always meant to join and heard how awesome the group is but just never did it. But all of that has changed! I just wanted to say hi to everybody and post my latest costume, Sweetums from the Muppets.

1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg5.jpg6.jpg7.jpg8.jpg9.jpg10.jpg11.jpg19d24761925911.5a7e31c13017b.jpg

Further Explanation of the build:

Image 1 - The Fur - I knew how important getting the fur right was so I didn't start anything until I found the perfect fur. It was the most expensive part of the build but it's such an important part of Sweetums.

Image 2 - Templating - Since Sweetums was a less popular Muppet, there are no schematics or drawings of how he functioned so I had to make it up myself. I spent about a month just looking at the few good photos of him trying to figure out how to build it. I also wanted a way to build it so the weight wasn't on my head, I have another costume I did with the weight on the head and I knew that doing that for an entire convention is painful. I ended up getting used hockey shoulder pads and build it all attached to them so the weight is distributed through the entire body.

Image 3 - Gluing Foam - I know I could have used mattress foam instead of EVA to make it lighter but I wanted a more durable skeleton that would hold up to a convention well plus I had all the tools to work with EVA already.