Steampunk Terra Base Ray Gun Lamp

Lunajammer

I had so much fun doing the Steampunk Tesla Lamp I've been on the lookout for another project. I saw this in the construction second-hand store. Who couldn't see a ray gun in that? So for $15 I bought it.

SconceLampHoriz-vi.jpg

This is going to be a three part project.
1) Lamp
2) Power Unit
3) Tower
I've been scrounging parts for a couple months. I got a start on it over Thanksgiving so I'll post more pics after work.

Last edited:
Lamp taken apart.

LampApart-vi.jpg

Mad fun with spray cans. I used Rustoleum matte black on all of it, but sprayed it lightly enough to leave a little of that great rust color fading through.

PaintedLamp1-vi.jpg

I used a metal template to make a flourished graphic on the frame. Laid it down and went over it with a gold Sharpie and was horrified to see it bled out so badly it was just a long gold blotch. I didn't intent to repaint it, so I wrote it off as "gilding" and embellished it with swirls to make it look like I intended it (shhhhh). Then repeated the pattern on the other parts.

PaintedLamp2-vi.jpg

I used a gold Sharpie marker for all the line accents. I used various metallic spray paints gingerly with no masking to create a gradated, bronzy, sooty look, then Antique Gold Rub & Buff for the embossed accents.

PaintedLamp3-vi.jpg

On the inside of the back bowl, I wanted to ad some reflectivity because I'm going to add a (colored?) candelabra light which I hope will add a colored glow. The textured glass will hide any fine detail so I just loosely brush painted some Testors Silver. Unmasked brass spray paint highlights the edges.

InsideBackBowl-vi.jpg

I used step bits to drill holes in the back.

HoleDrilledBack-vi.jpg