Starfire (DC) - Heavy armor build!

FireflyEmbers

All right, I had this in the general forum, but I'm going to go ahead and move it here.

I'm Amber, one half of Firelight Cosplay. I've got a couple of Marvel costumes under my belt so my first foray into DC is going to be Starfire to go with my friends' Red Hood and Arsenal costumes.

Here's what I'm working with:
20140906_155305_zpsbacd72a9.jpg

I'm going to make it out of lycra for the body suit/soft parts, then the armored bits are going to be EVA foam. Very excited about that. :D So, on to the first bit... the soft parts!

Patterned and cut out:
20140906_230857_zps76ae215e.jpg
I always cut my bodysuits a bit big, but this one I want extra room in because I'm planning on adding piping. As I've never done this before, I'm frankly terrified. Still, sewing/tucking/doing basic fitting and I get the base bodysuit together:
20140920_164643_zpse8144dd3.jpg
Huzzah messy bathroom. Again, it's not nearly as tight as it will be because I'm going to lose about 1/2 inch per piping strip, and I'm planning to add four, two in the front and two in the back. The pins are where I'm going to cut to add the silver piping. Then once I've got the base bodysuit done, I'm going to cut out a boob window and start on the EVA foam armoring.

Wish me luck. :D

What?! An armored Starfire? Like, with more clothing than exposed skin? Inconceivable! :lol

Looks like a great project, and a great start. I look forward to seeing the progress, as well as the pics of all three of you together. (Outlaws FTW!)

Last edited:
OK, update time! Unfortunately I suffer from costuming ADHD and sort of hop from one to another and back again. So not as much progress as I would have liked, BUT. The piping on the bodysuit is done. Yaaaaay!
20140930_182614_zps4a364b92.jpg