Sharkman dunghead iron man helmet

Discussion in 'Marvel Costumes and Props' started by Dan3088, May 6, 2012.

1. Dan3088

Dan3088 Active Member

Right first off I'm a noob around here so hi every one. I apologise if the iron man thing has been done to death or this is a standard noob post. Anyway I did the sharkman pepekura ironman helmet and now it's finished the face plate dosnt match up with the helmet it is perfectly matched until it gets to one of the joins then there is a half centimetre gap. What went wrong what did I do or didn't do to cause this or is this just the design?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Can I fix this in the bondo or fibre glass stage? Any help appreciated

2. Kevin Gossett

Kevin Gossett Master Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

Could have been caused by warping/distortion from the resin, but it is an easy fix. When you start with the filler, just fill in the gap and work it out that way

3. Allfate

Allfate Active Member

There is a 2 part putty resin I use called Magic Sculpt that would work for this also... Bondo can be tough to work with b/c of the consistency (too soft) to make easy build ups like what your looking to do.

4. Fierfek

Fierfek Sr Member

Even better, use some metal clamps and a heat gun to fix alignment issues before filling. It worked for my Iron man helmet when I had a similar issue.

5. longlenium

longlenium New Member

it took me 3 layers of bondo and sanding to fixing my gaps probelm as well. my gaps os getting better but still need 1 more layer to get the prefect gaps. sooo 4 layer will do the job

6. TheNickFox

TheNickFox Sr Member RPF PREMIUM MEMBER

Well, here's your problem:

[​IMG]

The numbers don't match up. The black lines are the seam, the red ones are the center of the tabs. Those red lines should match up exactly. When the helmet is un-resined paper, it's easy to manipulate and bend it into shape in order to make things fit. Resin and fiberglass have a way of forcing the issue.