H34d5h1f73r

-------------------!!!SCROLL DOWN FOR PROGRESS UPDATES!!!-------------------

So.. Hey everyone!

Just to start things off, I have never built a suit before or touched foam to begin with, so this is something I am learning as I go! I will give tips on how I solved problems and maybe ask questions when I am at a loss what to do.

I have had the idea to build a stormtrooper suit for a while and have scouted the internet for tutorials or anything to show me How to do this! To my surprise I came across the build from Kirk0 and Ruglund, both using the Foam converted files from JFcustoms, originally made by Fierfek! (JFCustom's Foam files: JFcustom's FOAM files) (Fierfek's Pep files: Fierfek's Star Wars Pepakura File Development)

So to start off I ordered four black 100 Decathlon yoga mats, and eagerly waited for them to arrive.

Day zero
Yay! The mats arrived! The carboard box was probably heavier than the mats inside of it. To straighten the mats out I put them under a matress and came back the next day to start working.

Day one
More like evening one, I figured to give it a shot and just try to see where I would end up. To start off I printed the templates and started to cut of the .5mm border with kitchen scissors. Then I transfered the pieces on the black foam using a black marker and cut them out smoothly with just a 5$ exactoblade (which I will be using for the entire build). Because of aligning the foam was difficult with the other pieces I pre-taped everything using painter's tape and slowly glued my way down.

In the first page of JFcustoms foam thread he describes how to cut angles in order to prevent a seam.I cut those angles using a kitchen knife after cutting out the piece of foam. After the hot glue has set I removed the pieces of tape and the result is a fairly clean result for a first timer.

Day two