Sci-Fi modeling on Elegoo Mars -- Community support/tips

Hunk a Junk

Sr Member
Since several RPFers are buying Elegoo Mars 3D resin printers (mine comes at the end of the month), and we begin printing replacement parts, detail pieces, and even small sci-fi kits, it may be time for a community support and tip thread.

As I've recently mentioned in the Bandai discussion thread, I think 3D printing is revolutionizing how we sci-fi modelers are going to be making our kits from now on and I'd like to share as much information with each other as possible to make it successful for everyone. This technology is only going to improve and I'd like to see us at the cutting edge of making even more accurate and detailed models. The better WE get at this, the more pressure kit manufacturers will feel to up their game and improve THEIR products (at least that's the hope).

Let me say this: I'm a complete novice at 3D printing and I'm not a technology gearhead. I chose the Elegoo Mars for the low cost and the high level of detail on the printed pieces. I looked at FDM printers like the Ender-3 because the build platforms are nice and big, but decided on the Mars despite a much smaller build area because the higher level of detail and I didn't want to be spending all my time sanding build lines on my printed objects. For me, the steepest learning curve will be making the 3D models and the slicing software. I've started dabbling on FreeCad, but if someone can recommend a better program I'm all ears (I use a MacBook Pro).